Skip to content

Announcement: The Recipients of the 2014 Distinguished Service Awards

2 min read

We are pleased to announce that the recipients of its 2014 Distinguished Service Awards will be Representative Pat Tiberi of Ohio’s 12th District, former Michigan Governor and President of Business Roundtable John Engler, and Chief TaxA tax is a mandatory payment or charge collected by local, state, and national governments from individuals or businesses to cover the costs of general government services, goods, and activities. Counsel and Deputy Staff Director to the Senate Committee on Finance (minority) Mark Prater. The awards will be presented during the Tax Foundation’s 77th Anniversary Dinner and Gala on Thursday, November 20, 2014 at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel in Washington, DC.

Pat Tiberi, Representative of Ohio’s 12th District, will be awarded the Public Sector Distinguished Service Award for his leadership in promoting fundamental tax reform, permanent bonus expensing, and a more competitive U.S. business tax system. As Chairman of the Select Revenue Measures Subcommittee of the Ways and Means Committee, he lends a respected voice to these issues, which has helped to bring tax reform to the forefront of the national political debate.

John Engler, President of Business Roundtable and former Governor of Michigan, will be awarded the Private Sector Distinguished Service Award for his leadership in promoting fundamental tax reform and a more competitive U.S. tax system. As a successful governor, and now advocate for the nation’s largest businesses, Engler brings a unique and valuable perspective to these issues that has helped to elevate the tax reform agenda nationally.

Mark Prater, Chief Tax Counsel and Deputy Staff Director to the U.S. Senate Committee on Finance (minority), will be awarded the Exemplar of Excellence in Public Service award for his years of tireless work as one of the most respected tax experts on Capitol Hill to protect the interests of American taxpayers and improve the nation’s tax code. This is only the second time in 77 years that the Tax Foundation has honored a congressional staff member for their service.

We are very optimistic about the prospect of fundamental tax reform because of the caliber of the Tax Foundation’s honorees this year. If Congress is going to get tax reform across the goal line, it will require Members, staff, and stakeholders who are smart, capable, and dedicated to working together for a common goal. Each of these honorees represents the best of those qualities and America’s tax code will be better off because of their efforts.

Since 1941, the Tax Foundation has awarded the Distinguished Service Award to a wide range of tax professionals, elected officials, and business leaders. Former recipients include President Dwight D. Eisenhower, Senators Max Baucus and Orrin Hatch, House Ways and Means CommitteeThe Committee on Ways and Means, more commonly referred to as the House Ways and Means Committee, is one of 29 U.S. House of Representative committees and is the chief tax-writing committee in the U.S. The House Ways and Means Committee has jurisdiction over all bills relating to taxes and other revenue generation, as well as spending programs like Social Security, Medicare, and unemployment insurance, among others. Chairman Dave Camp, Eli Lilly Chairman and CEO Sidney Taurel, Treasury Secretary James A. Baker III, Caterpillar CEO Jim Owens, Federal Reserve Chairman Paul Volcker, and many more.