How Many Jurisdictions in the U.S. Charge a Local Income Tax?

August 19, 2011

Residents in the vast majority of the United States’s approximately 18,000 municipalities (cities, towns, villages, etc.), do not pay a local income tax (although they pay other local taxes, such as property and sales tax).

We at the Tax Foundation are preparing a new report examining local income taxes, including their rates and how they’re collected. In Maryland, for instance, county income taxes are paid on the state income tax return, streamlining compliance. In Kansas, on the other hand, taxpayers must fill out a local intangibles tax return and mail it to their county clerk, separate from complying with state and federal income taxes.

Our question to you:

How many local income tax jurisdictions are there in the United States?

(We know the answer.) This includes income taxes levied by all sub-state jurisdictions, including counties, cities, townships, and school districts.

Submit your guess here. The last day to guess is Tuesday, August 30, 2011.

The closest guess will win a free Tax Foundation tape measure and level, along with a complimentary copy of our Facts & Figures booklet.

On Wednesday, August 31, 2011, we’ll announce the right answer and the winner, along with our new local income tax report!

Tax Topic 

Get Email Updates from the Tax Foundation

Follow Us

About the Tax Policy Blog

Subscribe to Tax Foundation - Tax Foundation's Tax Policy Blog The Tax Policy Blog is the official blog of the Tax Foundation, a non-partisan, non-profit research organization that has monitored tax policy at the federal, state and local levels since 1937. Our economists welcome your feedback. If you would like to send an e-mail to the author of a blog post, please click on that person's name to locate his or her e-mail address or visit our staff page here.

Monthly Archive