Five States Have Already Arrived at Their Tax Freedom Day

March 30, 2010

Today we released our annual Tax Freedom Day study. Tax Freedom Day--the day on which Americans have earned enough money to pay all federal, state, and local taxes for the year--will arrive on April 9 this year, the 99th day of 2010.

The national Tax Freedom Day is an average for all states, but Tax Freedom Day varies by state because each state taxes its residents differently and because the average income of taxpayers varies by state, which affects federal, state and local tax liabilities.

This year the earliest state Tax Freedom Days are in Alaska and Louisiana. Here is the list of states that have already arrived at their Tax Freedom Day:

  • March 26th: Alaska (50th) and Louisiana (49th) residents worked 85 days to pay their federal, state and local tax bills.
  • March 28th: Mississippi (48th) residents worked 87 days to pay all of their taxes in 2010.
  • March 29th: South Dakota (47th) residents worked 88 days to pay all of their taxes in 2010.
  • March 30th: West Virginia (46th) residents worked 89 days to pay all their taxes in 2010.
Tax Topic 

Get Email Updates from the Tax Foundation

We will never sell or share your information with third parties.

Follow Us

About the Tax Policy Blog

Subscribe to Tax Foundation - Tax Foundation's Tax Policy Blog The Tax Policy Blog is the official blog of the Tax Foundation, a non-partisan, non-profit research organization that has monitored tax policy at the federal, state and local levels since 1937. Our economists welcome your feedback. If you would like to send an e-mail to the author of a blog post, please click on that person's name to locate his or her e-mail address or visit our staff page here.

Monthly Archive